Wk 12 – Artist Interview – Ashley Sharpe

I had the opportunity to see Ashley Sharpe’s show. Her show involved an assembly of mono-prints, lithographs, screen prints, etchings, and relief prints involving a lot of cats.

20150416_111343

I got to find out many things about Ashley Sharpe and her show. She mentioned that she likes how all of the prints of cats in her show have different styles but when you put them as a whole, it comes together. She also mentioned that she started her show in 2013 but some of her prints were recently made. She also said that she tried to incorporate all types of print making into her show.

Something I found interesting about hr show is that some of her prints of cats that she encountered. She said that she walked around around her neighborhood with food to get pictures of cats. She even told me that one of the strays passed away, so her show was kinda like a tribute for it.

Ashley Sharpe said that she is really into cats. She agrees when cats relates to people. I thought it was interesting that she did not own a cat; however, her roommate own one. She also said that she had a cat when she was younger. She also mentioned that her love for cats really help with hard times and getting through things.

20150416_112114

One specific piece from her show that I fancied was Cateidoscope. I really like how it looks. I like how it looks really loud but at the same time it is subtle. I think because the whole picture is the same color it makes it less loud. I also like how intricate it looks. I also like the thin black lines, making it look geometric.

Leave a Reply

