Wk 6 – Activity – Yarn Bombing

20150227_151714-horz

For my Yarn Bombing experience, I used yarn on my phone charger. i thought it was very subtle and nice. The way I did it was the way I made bracelets when I was young. i thought it would be way easier if I did it this way than just wrapping the yarn around it. It was quite easy but very time consuming. A difficult things about it was that since my charger is so long, I had a lot of yarn everywhere. At times the yarn would get tangled and knotted, but it worked out in the end. I think that my charger looks really cute and stylish now. I’m glad I got the yarn that was multiple colors.

My Yarn Bombing experience was very different from my Graffiti Writing experience. I had a very difficult time during my Graffiti Writing experience. Graffiti Writing really frustrating and hard for me. When I messed while using spray paint it was permanent, while yarn is much easier to fix a mistake. You can go back and fix what you did wrong with the yarn. I also thought it was different because I knew how to do this bracelet technique and I did not know how to work with spray paint. I felt that working with yarn was easier because you have more control. Yarn goes where you want to place it.

20150226_110922-horz

CSULB SOA Fiber Arts facilities on the 2nd Floor of FA2

I believe that Yarn Bombing and Graffiti Writing are two different things but try to convey the same meaning, art. I think that there is some aspects that make bombing with art masculine and aggressive but I believe that it would not have to be that way if so many people didn’t disapprove of it. To contrast, I think there are many things that make yarn bombing feminine and nurturing because of what people first think when they hear or see yarn. I believe that yarn bombing and graffiti bombing have invalid stereotypes because there are many men that knit and many women who graffiti. I think that painting art and fiber crafts are the same because they illustrate the same meaning.

Leave a Reply

